Programme

Brut conquers Britain and builds New Troy (London).

London, British Library, MS Harley 1808, fol. 30v. © British Library.

Sponsor:

This conference is made possible by generous support from the Henkels Lecture Fund, Institute for Scholarship in the Liberal Arts, College of Arts and Letters, University of Notre Dame.

Conference Programme

The final version of the programme can be viewed below. Please click to download (opens in a new window).


Welcome to New Troy: A talk about Geoffrey of Monmouth's legendary history and 'Virtual Tour of New Troy', given by John Clark (Museum of London), will be available to view on our website throughout the conference. Registration is required for access.

Special Event: The beginning of the first Social Hour on Friday 25 June (18:45–19:45 BST [13:45 EDT, 10:45 PDT]) will feature a special 'premiere' of La3amon's Brut: The Full Reading Text—audio recording of the Brut by esteemed La3amon scholar Rosamund Allen. Please join us to celebrate the recent release of this excellent resource with Paul Thomas, Co-Director of The Chaucer Studio, and Rosamund Allen. For more details about the project, please see our promotions page.

Brut_Conf_Program_FINAL.pdf